Multiple BA Players Named in Initial GB Under-20 Men’s Squad

Date: 8th June 2017   •   Category: Latest News, National Teams

Six current and former Barking Abbey student-athletes have been named in the initial Great Britain Under-20 Men’s squad that has been announced by British Basketball.

Current student-athletes Amin Adamu, Obi Agu, and RJ Eytle-Rock, along with alumni Calvin Nevill-Kintu, Josh Steel and Akwasi Yeboah – who all graduated with the Class of 2015 – have all been named in the initial 21-man list, as they will head to a training camp with Head Coach Andreas Kapoulas in Colchester later this month.

For Adamu and Agu it is their first National Team call up, meanwhile Steel returns to the squad, after suiting up at the European Championships last summer, and Nevill-Kintu, Yeboah and Eytle-Rock aim to make their first GB squad having represented England Junior National Teams previously.

Additionally, Barking Abbey coach Lloyd Gardner will be an assistant with the team.

“We’re definitely excited about the group of players that we have selected and we look forward to going to camp at the end of June,” said Head Coach Kapoulas.

“It’s a short preparation, leading to the European championship, so we need to maximise the time with our team and certainly having players returning from last summer will help this process.

“We have a lot of hard work ahead of us and we certainly feel that we have the ingredients to have a successful summer campaign. It’s important to focus on the process and make sure, together, we bond as a unit and get better.”

With the announcement, it means 12 Barking Abbey student-athletes have been named across both the initial GB U20 men and women’s squads made up of 38 players in total, representing 31% of the player pool.

The full list of players selected for the U20 men’s camp is as follows:

Amin Adamu, Barking Abbey/Kent Crusaders
Obi Agu, Barking Abbey/Kent Crusaders
Joshua Apple, Ipswich Basketball Club
Andre Arissol, Otero Junior College (USA)
Harvey Barr, Lake Region State College (USA)
Moses Byekwaso, Preston College
Kyle Carey, Barry University (USA)
Morgan Carter, Charnwood College/Leicester Riders
Danny Evans, University of Maine (USA)
RJ Eytle-Rock, Barking Abbey/Kent Crusaders
Sam Idowu, St. Peter’s College (USA)
Calvin Nevill-Kintu, Vincennes University (USA)
Henri Langton, Charnwood College/Leicester Riders
Luke Mitchell, Nottingham Hoods
Brennan Morris, Loomis Chaffee School (USA)
Alex Roberts, Loughborough Student Riders
Ali Sbai, Reading Rockets
Josh Steel, University of Duquesne (USA)
Evan Walshe, Barry University (USA)
Carl Wheatle, Angelico Biella (Italy)
Akwasi Yeboah, Stony Brook University (USA)

Image Credit: FIBA